Books

The Fire and Thorns Trilogy

(click on each cover for details)

“Elisa is a wonderful, believable hero.”
— Tamora Pierce, author of New York Times bestseller BLOODHOUND

The Girl of Fire and Thorns

THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS
Book 1
September 20, 2011

The Crown of Embers

THE CROWN OF EMBERS
Books 2
Fall 2012

The Bitter Kingdom

THE BITTER KINGDOM
Book 3
Fall 2013

Once every century, one person is chosen for greatness. But the prophecy is vague, and Elisa, always overshadowed by her accomplished older sister, has no idea why she was chosen or how she will fulfill the expectations. Her future is unknown and her potential is tremendous—even if she doesn’t realize it. A king asks her to save his troubled country. A savage enemy hunts her for its own—dead or alive. A revolutionary asks for her heart. And in the midst of ferocious battles and harsh quests, Elisa will find herself. She will find the strength she’s always possessed. She’ll find deep and abiding love. She’ll awaken the power that only she can control. And she’ll face those who want to rip all of it away. Lush, adventurous, and wrenching, THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS is the first in a trilogy for fans of Kristin Cashore’s Graceling and Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books.

“Palace intrigues, desert rebellions, kidnappings, forbidden romance, and bloody betrayals, along with not a little time at the banquet table, make THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS a delicious debut, even before Elisa begins to ask meaty questions about the nature of faith and her destiny in a country on the verge of war.”
— Paolo Bacigalupi, Printz Award-winning author of SHIP BREAKER

“I stayed up until 2AM reading this last night. Intense, unique. . . . Definitely recommended.”
— Veronica Roth, New York Times bestselling author of DIVERGENT

“Rae Carson’s heroine is a perfect blend of the ordinary and the extraordinary. I loved her.”
— Megan Whalen Turner, author of Newbery Honor book, THE THIEF

“I LOVED this book! It’s a transformation story that both teens and adults can believe in. Rae Carson has delivered a unique magical system and built a world with strong series potential.”
— Cinda Williams Chima, New York Times bestelling author of THE EXILED QUEEN

“Set in intrigue-filled courts, battlefields, and windswept deserts, this riveting fantasy tests its heroine’s limits as she struggles to fulfill a destiny wrapped in an ancient mystery. A breathtaking adventure in a fascinating, richly-drawn world.”
— Leah Cypess, author of MISTWOOD

“I loved Rae Carson’s THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS because it reminded me of my favorite books—Kristin Cashore’s Graceling and Megan Whelan Turner’s The King of Attolia. It is distinctive for its luminous prose, its hint of romance, and Elisa, a strong, smart heroine that readers will truly fall in love with.”
— Sarah Prineas, author of THE MAGIC THIEF

9Pingbacks & Trackbacks on Books

  1. [...] Here’s the summary from Rae Carson’s website: [...]

  2. [...] debut, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, was a little simpler but still entertaining. I very much enjoyed the heroine, Elisa, and her [...]

  3. [...] The Girl of Fire and Thorns (fantasy) by Rae Carson:  Great world building.  I really liked the heroine Elisa.  The book takes you in one direction and then switches things all around.  It is not as predictable as one my think when beginning the story.  The romantic elements are complex and even heartbreaking.  My only complaint was that I felt the author needed a map because of all the character movement to different locations.  I can’t wait to read the sequel (Crown of Embers, Fall 2012)! [...]

  4. [...] Girl of Fire and Thorns is first in a trilogy, but the story wraps up neatly enough that I don’t necessarily feel compelled to wait for the [...]

  5. [...] Feuerstein ist der Auftaktaband einer Trilogie um die junge Auserwählte Elisa. Band zwei The Crown of Embers erscheint demnächst in den USA und Band drei ist in [...]

  6. [...] Brittany; what’s not to love? — and the uniqueness of Elisa, the heroine of the “Fire and Thorns” trilogy (the third book comes out in fall [...]

  7. […] Published: Aug. 27, 2013 by Greenwillow Books Format: 448 pages; Hardcover; ebook Website: www.raecarson.com Source: review copy via Edelweiss My […]

  8. […] and Storm. Lyga‘s Jasper Dent books. Cashore’s Graceling trilogy. Carson’s Fire and Thorns.Even Roth’s Divergent books. (Don’t flame me, but I’ve no desire to pick up the […]

Leave a Reply