The Bitter Kingdom

bitter-kingdom-smallThe third book in Rae Carson’s award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy. Elisa, the seventeen-year-old sorcerer-queen, will travel into an unknown enemy’s realm to win back her true love, save her kingdom, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny. Veronica Roth called The Girl of Fire and Thorns ”intense, unique . . . definitely recommended.”

Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and George R. R. Martin’s style of sweeping and deeply satisfying epic fantasy, the third and final book in the trilogy takes the young queen on a journey more dangerous than any she has faced before. Elisa will stand before the gate of the enemy. And she must rise up as champion—even to those who have hated her—or her kingdom will fall. Full of sorcery, adventure, sizzling romance, and secrets that challenge everything she believes, this is a bold and powerful conclusion to an extraordinary trilogy. As proclaimed, “Rae Carson has proved she’s a master and has shaken up the YA genre.”

Book Description

The champion must not waver.

The champion must not fear.

The gate of darkness closes.

Elisa is a fugitive.

Her enemies have stolen the man she loves, and they await her at the gate of darkness. Her country is on the brink of civil war, with her own soldiers ordered to kill her on sight.

Her Royal Majesty, Queen Lucero-Elisa née Riqueza de Vega, bearer of the Godstone, will lead her three loyal companions deep into the enemy’s kingdom, a land of ice and snow and brutal magic, to rescue Hector and win back her throne. Her power grows with every step, and the shocking secrets she will uncover on this, her final journey, could change the course of history.

But that is not all. She has a larger destiny. She must become the champion the world has been waiting for.

Even of those who hate her most.

Critical Praise for The Bitter Kingdom

“What a conclusion to a spellbinding trilogy! The Bitter Kingdom cements Rae Carson as one of the best fantasy authors to grace the shelves. I love this series to pieces, and so should you.” — MARIE LU, NEW YORK TIMES BEST-SELLING AUTHOR OF THE LEGEND TRILOGY

“The perfect conclusion to one of the most brilliant modern YA fantasies on the market today. Readers will love this whole series, and while I didn’t want to leave Elisa’s world, The Bitter Kingdom hits all the right notes. This is YA fantasy as it should be.” — BETH REVIS, AUTHOR OF THE NATIONALLY BEST-SELLING ACROSS THE UNIVERSE

“Action-packed … excellent … with terrific world-building and character development. … Also tackles classic fantasy tropes, springing off into unusual and refreshing directions.…Carson brings her series to an end with a thrilling climax.” — PUBLISHERS WEEKLY (STARRED REVIEW)

“A smashing ending to a trilogy that …developed into the stellar journey of a girl who would be queen.” — KIRKUS REVIEWS (STARRED REVIEW)

“This is a spell-binding book. It is not often that all three books in a series are equally enthralling. Those who love Tamora Pierce and Kristen Cashore will love the tales of Elisa.” — VOICE OF YOUTH ADVOCATES (VOYA)

“This is that rare series in which each volume is better than the last. … An action-packed and thoughtful end to an ambitious series.” — HORN BOOK MAGAZINE

“Elisa continues to be a heroine worth rooting for … and by the fairy-tale ending, readers will have no doubt that her newly formed empire will thrive. … An altogether satisfying conclusion to an entertaining trilogy.” — SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL

Leave a Reply